Reviews about taxi drivers in Cuba

Since January 2016, our drivers have been working to achieve numbers like these

1931 hires

Our drivers have been hired 1931 times. One hire can go from a simple airport pick up, to a trip of more than 3 weeks around the island.

6088 travelers

From solo travelers, to couples on vacations, to entire families, to groups of 10+, 6088 people have gone on trips with our drivers so far.

690 reviews

Since December 2016 we started collecting reviews, and 690 comments have been written about our drivers, many with pictures included.


These are some reviews, comments and stories from travelers who have gone on journeys or transfers with our drivers. Read some of them, get inspired and go ahead and hire a driver with a car here in Cuba.

24 stories here... and there are more: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6
Discover more drivers: Show also reviews in Spanish

Evgeniya and Victor from Russia

Written on 18 March, 2017

Despite the fact that we gave him not an exact address, Juan Carlos found us exactly at the appointed time, not being late for a minute. He is a good driver. There was an air conditioning in the car, so the hot ?uban climate is not i not terrible in the car. He is a nice and kindly guide, always gave a maximum of interesting information. Juan Carlos accompanied us on a trip to Viñales in February 2017 and became not just our guide, but also a friend. Thanks to him we saw and visited all the most beautiful and interesting places. Juan Carlos is our best new friend in Cuba ))

See Juan Carlos's profile


   

Nicola from italy

Written on 13 March, 2017

great experience with a fantastic driver, Roberto, he's been very reliable and always available for any our request, he's got a confortable vintage car and had a safety guide for all the tour, from Havana to Santiago. Advisable!!! nice trip, I enjoied Cuba

See Roberto de la Cruz's profile


   

Jeremy from Spain

Written on 28 February, 2017

We traveled with Clement on 2 different occasions during our travel to Cuba in February 2017.
We were 4 persons (2 adults + 2 children).
Extremely nice person. He gave us some good views on the life in Cuba.

good driving... Definitely recommendable

See Clement Castillo's profile


   

Catherine Nguyen and Steve Le from Vietnam

Written on 14 February, 2017

My family's trip were very happy and interesting with Osvaldo driver. Mr. Osvaldo very enthusiastic, careful, punctual journey throughout our 6 days in Cuba. His car very nice, large enough for us and 6 luggages. His driving skills are very good. He is very kindly to help us from finding good restaurants, places, buy souvenirs with chip price, buy cigar ... His English is very well to communicate with us.

See Osvaldo's profile


   

Joel & Sally from USA

Written on 8 February, 2017

Jorge Luis drove us from Havana to Trinidad in his well-maintained Seat, with stops for sightseeing and lunch in Cienfuegos, his home town. He arrived a few minutes early at our casa particular in Havana; we loaded the luggage and were off. His English is about as limited as our Spanish, but we managed to communicate satisfactorily. He adhered strictly to the speed limits, and waited patiently while we visited several buildings in Cienfuegos and searched for our desired restaurant in an out-of-the-way location on the waterfront. On arriving in Trinidad, he negotiated the appropriate "tip" that would let us into the closed-off streets of the old town, where our casa was located. Very professional driver, highly recommended.

See Jorge Luis's profile


   

Like our drivers already?

Request a quote from some of them for the trip you want to do.
Selecciona uno si así lo decides.


Modern Car
Air Conditioner

Alan Dowie and family from United Kingdom

Written on 6 February, 2017

We used the transport 4 times and it was faultless.

I was worried on arrival if we would get all our cases in the vehicle, but the Toyota had plenty of space and when the rain shower came on, Lois stopped and covered the cases with black bags.

We had a great time in Cuba and would love to come back. Once again thanks to you and your drivers for the help and time in Cuba.

See Lois's profile


   

Matthias & Lieselot from Belgium

Written on 6 February, 2017

This trip with Osvaldo was the best choice we ever made. Osvaldo is a normal, honest and friendly guy who, after two weeks, became a friend. He can help you with almost everything (hey, it's cuba!) going from a place to stay, a place to have a nice dinner to the best diving sites in the whole of Cuba. If you hire him, you will not regret it!

See Osvaldo's profile


   

Jaimi Cyrus

Written on 3 February, 2017

My family had a great experience in Cuba, I just wish that I could have joined them and that the trip had been longer. One week is not enough time in such an interesting country!

I have been telling everyone about yotellevocuba, which I think is a great example of entrepreneurial spirit and an extremely valuable service. Fidel was absolutely first-rate in his communication with me, organization and I appreciated his initiative in checking on what else he could do to make the visit great (overnight accomodation, activities/sites, etc). The driver Hector was friendly, helpful and overall my family was happy with him. His english was limited and it was disappointing to not be able to converse more easily with him - they would have loved to get more of a local persons' viewpoint, understanding of the culture, etc. I told my husband that they should have learned spanish.. :)

See Fidel Raúl's profile


   

Paul Rogers from Ireland

Written on 3 February, 2017

This was my 4th trip to Cuba and it did not disappoint, we loved our time in Havana & Cayo Santa Maria. The weather was poor for the first 3 days but at this time of year you run that risk.

All of our friends and family asked about our visit and experiences and we had plenty of photos to share with them. If only we lived in Canada rather than Europe then we would be there all the time.

Your service was great and Lois was amazing, he kept in contact for the three weeks in the run up to the ride and met us at exactly the time required. I felt sorry for Lois as it was a very long trip for us and we only went one way, i would love to know what Lois thought of the trip and would he do it again? In terms of the service that you offer i definitely believe that it was worth it, the cost was 50% less than using a conventional agent and the standard of Lois vehicle was better than most we have had in Cuba.

My only request is that when drivers respond they also describe what the vehicle is, one of the other drivers that responded drove a Peugeot 207 which whilst being a great car i dont believe would accommodate our luggage and be comfortable for a 4 - 5 hour drive.

See Lois's profile


   

Liam Barret from UK

Written on 3 February, 2017

We arranged our trip from Havana to Trinidad with Elmer by email from the UK and he was bang on time to collect us from our Casa. He's a good driver, knowledgeable, reliable, honest and excellent value.

We needed subsequent taxi journeys from Trinidad to Playa Larga and then Playa Larga to Havana. Elmer was happy to drive from Havana on each occasion and ferry us around for reasonable cost.

More than that, he is a great laugh. You're hiring more than just a taxi driver and our holiday was better for having spent all the hours on the road with him.

I recommend using a taxi in Cuba even on the longer trips. We were a party of 4 and the taxi worked out around 50% more than taking a bus. It was more comfortable, we were able to stop along the way when we wanted and it felt more in touch with the country. If you are going to take a taxi, then I thoroughly recommend Elmer Lores!

See Elmer Lores's profile


   

Kristine Šulce from Latvia

Written on 1 February, 2017

i arrived to cuba with my 3 friends. At first we was a little afraid about promissed car and places to sleep, but when we arrived in a place, Lewys met us with amazing old car, introduced with a plans for folllowing 3weeks in Cuba. Plans was about driving, places to drive and places to sleep.
Our driver was Erio, who was not only driver - he was all the time with us, showed to us very many interesting places, what we never could find by ourselfs, he gives more than we asked. He introduced us with a local people life, included Cubian kitchen music and dances:))
That was very amazing and interesting travel, with adventures and many fun. All was organized very well. I suggest to everybody, who decide to come to Cuba and travell all around the iceland , choose Lewys service, it s best of all:)

See Lewys Duvergel's profile


   

yaksenia goddard from Barbados

Written on 30 January, 2017

The best taxi very nice clean and good confort.i recomend it to any one to travel to cuba .Always in time.get safe ride and enjoy vacation

See Lewys Duvergel's profile


   

Maria Gerbase de Lima from Brasil

Written on 28 January, 2017

We traveled from Havana to Santiago de Cuba with Eduardo Torres as our driver, for seven days. Eduardo is a remarkable good driver and companion. He made everything to make our trip very pleasant and made sure that we saw all important sights in the six cities that we passed or stayed during this journey. He was also very helpful in explaining to us many aspects concerning life in Cuba. It was a great luck to have Eduardo as a driver that became our friend. He surely made a difference to our trip to Cuba.

See Eduardo Torres's profile


   

Ana Lucinskaja, Evelina, Angelina, Jaroslav from Lithuania

Written on 27 January, 2017

Ricardo was an amazing driver. We said to him, what we want to visit and he organised our 2 days trip, we didn't have to think about anything. Also he told a lot of interesting stories about Cuba's history and nowadays life ! Moreover, he can speak russian ! That's was really surprising, but also very good thing because my father doesn't speak english. I recommended him for my friends, who are going to Cuba next month :) i hope what your organisation have more drivers like Ricardo, because he made our trip much better !

See Ricardo Abel's profile


   

Aldo

Written on 26 January, 2017

We got in touch with Reiniel only a few days before we started our trip. He helped us organizing our trip from Cayo Santa Maria to La Habana. We had to change the time of the trip the night before, and there was no problem for him or his driver. The car was amazing, with good air conditioning and plenty of space. The driver was good and we talked a lot during the trip.

See Reiniel Pool's profile


   

Aldo

Written on 26 January, 2017

Justo was very friendly and polite during the whole trip. We had a very good time with him. He explained us a lot of things about Cuba that allowed us to understand more about the country and its population. His car is very nice and, although we were 5 people with a lot of bags, we found a way to fit in his car. We will definetely recommend him.

See Justo de la Cruz Beltrán's profile


   

Irene & Max from Netherlands

Written on 25 January, 2017

Hello!

We came back from Cuba last week and we drove around in the West part of Cuba (Route: Havana, Vinales, Playa Larga, Cienfuegos, Trinidad, Santa Clara, Varadero) in a supernice Chevrolet ('56) with our driver Roberto!

Having your own car VS taking the bus:
We felt that it was really the right choice to have our own car, since it gave a lot more flexibility and thereby we could do more in a short time. (e.g. not just going from city A to city B, but for example taking the car to a nearby park/trekking, or a nearby village, for which you would otherwise have to take a cab).

car rental company VS booking a driver with car over this platform:
I would advise you to try to book a driver who has a nice classical car, as opposed to renting a normal car by yourself at car rental company. Driving by yourself will be less convenient (need to take insurance, need to find the way, etc) and less fun, and probably even more expensive!

Roberto VS other drivers on this platform: Roberto is a very good driver and a reliable person who speaks English well which is a big plus! Besides driving us around he gave us some information and insider tips about the respective places. He is well-connected and can also provide you with contacts for accommodation in case you havent booked anything yet. Long story short, Roberto guarantees a great Cuba trip and we would highly recommend him!

Enjoy Cuba!! :)

See Roberto de la Cruz's profile


   

Lauren from US

Written on 25 January, 2017

While I booked with Roberto, he was not able to make it. He sent an acquantance, Yoandy in his place. Yoandy arrived on time to pick us up and the car was stunning and immaculate. We were with him for 4 days and every time he arrived early /on time for our pick up. He was so friendly and accommodating, we were so pleased with his service and highly recommend!

See Roberto de la Cruz's profile


   

Gertjan V. from Belgium

Written on 23 January, 2017

We contacted Roberto through this website for 10 days in December 2016 until January 2017 for a trip (Varadero, Havana, Viñales, Cienfuegos, Santa Clara). Even before our trip started, Roberto gave a very nice impression and was open for our whole itinerary. During our trip, he did not only was our driver but also became a friend. He helped us with a stay in Trinidad, Pinar del Rio,... Next, he also gave us lots of tips for sight-seeing and nice places to have lunch.

Overall, the communication was always very fluent, which is facilitated by the level of English Roberto has. Apart from that, he was always open for everything we wanted to do and guided us along the way. In summary, we had an amazing time in Cuba and mostly because of Roberto. I would always recommend him. Given the fact that you need to spend a lot of time in the car, you better do it with somebody who is worth your time and money. Roberto clearly is.

See Roberto de la Cruz's profile


   

Elizabeth, Matt, Mary, and Karisa from United States

Written on 23 January, 2017

Ernesto was a sweet heart. His English was not the best (about on par with my high school Spanish), but he is making an active effort to learn English and we were able to communicate effectively by talking slowly. Ernesto gave us some good recommendations on activities and food and generously drove us everywhere we wanted to go.

The car was comfortable and had enough room for four people and their stuff. Overall it was a fabulous experience and Ernesto was one of the highlights of the trip.

See Ernesto Hernández's profile


   

Diane Mariash, husband & another couple from Canada

Written on 21 January, 2017

After researching car rental and buses in Cuba, we concluded that the most hassle free mode of transportation for long distances, was a taxi service such as
Yotellevo. It was also more economical . I e-mailed the company, & was put in touch with our driver, Clement Castillo. We emailed each other to arrange the
details of our transportation. Clement was punctual, friendly, spoke English & most importantly a very good driver. He was kind enough to drive back to our drop off point with a passport that was left in the back seat.
We tried to get him as our driver for another portion of our trip. He was already booked but he did call another driver for us. I would highly recommend Clement Castillo as a driver .

See Clement Castillo's profile


   

Elisa Magnesi from Italia

Written on 20 January, 2017

Hi all. My trip has been stunning. Your service is really good. Osgel a nice chofer. Good job guys.

See Osgel's profile


   

Choi, Fun, Niah from UK

Written on 20 January, 2017

We loved the time we spent with Clement! Although he claims his English is not very good, (Russian and French are his main languages) it was good enough that we could understand him.

Clement was friendly, funny and accommodating and so ready to share with us his wonderful knowledge of Cuba, which was a real insight for us on the drives we booked him for. His recommendations and advice to visit places were spot on.

We really enjoyed his company and wouldn't hesitate to recommend him.

See Clement Castillo's profile


   

Inta, Jolanta, Kristine, Valerijs from Latvia

Written on 18 January, 2017

Thanks to Lewys and to Erio for unforgettable 25 days in Cuba.They showed us the famous places and real life of Cubans as we wished. We run around the Cuba island more than 3000 km. Our driver was not only driver and guide. He has became our good friend.

See Lewys Duvergel's profile


   

See more stories: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6

Share this page!

Yo Te Llevo Cuba logo
About us

YoTeLlevo is a community of private taxi drivers in Cuba. You contact them before arriving in the island and they give you prices for your trips in Cuba.

We are also the creators of PickoCar.com, a shared taxi service in Cuba.